Idioms and phrasal verbs with walk

walk

One of the ways that you can improve your level of English is to revisit some words you already know and learn about their collocations and idiomatic uses. For example, the verb: walk.  Scroll down to read my story about what happened the day I passed my English exam. Why not click on the links? They will take you to the Cambridge Dictionary so you can check all the meanings. Next step: write your own story…post here or on Excellent@English facebook page.

I was walking on air the day I found out I had passed my English exam, I had never felt so happy. I was oblivious to everything around me and not concentrating at all, when suddenly I walked right into a lamppost. Ouch! I looked around but happily noone saw what I did, so I just walked off.

I couldn’t wait to get home and tell  Laura, my girlfriend. Recently, I‘ve been walking on egg shells around her because we haven’t been spending much time together. One of our friends, Elizabeth, has been walking me through some English grammar and I get the feeling Laura has been a little jealous.

I get back to my flat, open the front door and notice a letter on the doormat. I open it and read that Laura has walked out on me. She is angry and believes I’m now seeing Elizabeth and as revenge, she’s walked off with all the furniture, in the whole flat – including all my stuff. I stand here boiling with anger. I decide that I’m going to walk off all this anger and go and look for her to explain the situation.

Leave a Reply

